2024 Regional Symposia - Northeast

The 2024 SFB Northeast Symposia will be hosted by Northeastern University in Boston, Massachusetts, September 19-20, 2024.  

Symposia programs will include shared plenary speakers from the above locations with content accessible remotely across the country. Participants will include faculty and student populations of the respective host institutions, while also featuring regional presentations, speakers, and posters. 

The sample program provided below is a tentative draft and subject to significant changes:

September 19, 2024 (All Times Eastern)

8:00 AM - 8:30 AM  Registration / Check-in  
8:30 AM - 8:45 AM  Welcome by Site Chairs 
8:45 AM - 10:00 AM  Concurrent Session I
10:00 AM - 10:15 AM  Coffee Break 
10:15 AM - 11:30 AM  Concurrent Session II
11:30 AM - 12:45 PM  Plenary Session I
12:45 PM - 1:45 PM  Lunch 
1:45 PM - 3:00 PM Concurrent Session III
3:00 PM - 4:15 PM  Panel Discussion - Career Planning, Networking, and Mentorship 
4:15 PM - 5:30 PM  Plenary Session II
5:30 PM - 6:30 PM  Poster Session 

September 20, 2024 (All Times Eastern)

8:15 AM - 8:45 AM  Registration / Check-in
8:45 AM - 10:00 AM  Concurrent Session IV 
10:00 AM - 10:15 AM  Coffee Break 
10:15 AM - 11:30 AM  Concurrent Session V
11:30 AM - 12:45 PM  Plenary Session III 
12:45 PM - 1:45 PM Lunch 
1:45 PM - 3:00 PM  Concurrent Session VI
3:00 PM - 4:15 PM  Workshop - Biotech Startups, Translational Medicine, and VC Funding 
4:15 PM - 5:30 PM  Concurrent Session VII

For anyone looking to support our exciting work and to help ensure a bright future for biomaterials and all who study them please consider sponsoring SFB's 2024 Regional Symposia nationally and/or regionally!


Thank you to our sponsors!


COE Bioengineering



Lehigh Materials Science and Engineering   Lehigh Bioengineering





Regional Symposia Co-Chairs:

Ambika Bajpayee, PhD, Northeastern University
Abigail Koppes, PhD, Northeastern University

Program Committee:
Gulden Camci-Unal, PhD, University of Massachusetts - Lowell
Lesley Chow, PhD, Lehigh University
Nisha Iyer, PhD, Tufts University
Era Jain, PhD, Syracuse University 
Ryan Koppes, PhD, Northeastern University
Ashish Kulkarni, PhD, University of Massachusetts - Amherst
Tommy Pashuck, PhD, Lehigh University
Ryan Pearson, PhD, University of Maryland
Ritu Raman, PhD, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Tannin Schmidt, PhD, University of Connecticut