Current Student Chapters

 

Arizona State University

Chapter Officers

Advisors: Sarah Stabenfeldt, PhD and Julianne Holloway, PhD
President: Kassondra Hickey - knhickey@asu.edu
Vice President: Fallon Fumasi - ffumasi@asu.edu
Treasurer: Deepanjan Ghosh - dghosh@asu.edu
Secretary: Gregory Jensen - gmjense3@asu.edu

Back to the Top

Carnegie Mellon University

Chapter Officers

President: Jaci Bliley - blileyjm@gmail.com
Treasurer: Santiago Carrasquilla - scarrasq@andrew.cmu.edu
Bylaws Chair: Neeha Dev Arun - narun@andrew.cmu.edu

Back to the Top

Case Western Reserve University

Chapter Officers

Advisor: Anirban Sen Gupta, PhD
President: Ujjal Didar Singh Sekhon
Vice-President: Kathleen Young
Treasurer: Aditya Girish

Back to the Top

City College of New York

Chapter Officers

President: Nada Haq-Siddiqi - nhaqsiddiqi@gmail.com
Vice President: Mykel Greene - mykg50@gmail.com
Treasurer: Elizabeth Mansfield - lmansfield1@gmail.com
Secretary: Kristifor Sunderic - ksunderic@gmail.com

Back to the Top

Clemson University

Chapter Officers

President: Adam Kirn - akirn@clemson.edu
Vice President: Duong Nguyen - duongn@clemson.edu
Secretary: Beau Inskeep - binskee@clemson.edu
Treasurer: Yogender Gowtham - YGOWTHA@clemson.edu

Links

University Page: www.clemson.edu
Department Page: www.clemson.edu/ces/departments/bioe/
Our Society Website: www.clemson.orgsync.com/org/cbs

Back to the Top

Columbia University

Chapter Officers

President: Brendan Roach - blr2138@columbia.edu
Vice President: Amy Silverstein - ams2396@columbia.edu
Treasurer: Danielle Bogdanowicz - drb2157@columbia.edu

Secretary: Dovina Qu - dq2119@columbia.edu

Back to the Top

Georgia Institute of Technology

Chapter Officers

President: Leah Anderson -  landerson81@gatech.edu
Vice President: Zoe Mote – zoemote@gatech.edu
Secretary: Thomas Turner - tturner0519@gatech.edu
Treasurer: Gilad Doron – gilad@gatech.edu
Biomaterials Day Chair: Fabrice Bernard – fbernard@gatech.edu 

Back to the Top

Iowa State University

Chapter Officers

Advisor: Balaji Narasimhan, PhD - nbalaji@iastate.edu
President: Zahra Davoudi -  davoudi@iastate.edu
Vice President: Luman Liu - luman1@iastate.edu
Secretary/Treasurer: Shalini Unnikandam Veetil - shalini@iastate.edu

Back to the Top

Johns Hopkins University

Chapter Officers

Advisor: Hai-Quan Mao, PhD - hmao@jhu.edu
President: Michael Lan
Co-President: Dante Navarro - dnavarr3@jhu.edu
Secretary: Brad Parsons - bparso10@jhu.edu
Treasurer: Michael Ainsworth - mainswo3@jhu.edu
External Communications Chair: Kisha Patel - kpatel74@jhu.edu
External Communications Chair: Michael Lan - mlan4@jhu.edu
Internal Communications Chair: Bowen Chen - bchen45@jhu.edu
Chapter Email: jhu.sfb@gmail.com

Back to the Top

North Carolina Agriculture and Technical State University

Chapter Officers

Founding President: Nava P. Rijal - nprijal@aggies.ncat.edu
Vice President (President-Elect): Udhab Adhikari - uadhikar@aggies.ncat.edu
Secretary/Treasurer: Erika Johnson - ejohn135@uncc.edu
Secretary/Treasurer-Elect: Liu Lumei - llumei@aggies.ncat.edu
Bylaws Chair: Paul McGhee - prmcghee@aggies.ncat.edu
Outreach Coordinator: Shalil Khanal - skhanal@aggies.ncat.edu

Back to the Top

North Carolina State University

Chapter Officers

Advisor: Martin W. King, PhD - martin_king@ncsu.edu
President: Emily Mihalko - emihalk@ncsu.edu
Vice President: Zachary Davis - zgdavis@ncsu.edu
Treasurer: Ziyu Wang - zwang77@ncsu.edu
Secretary: Grant Scull - gmscull@ncsu.edu

Back to the Top

Northeastern University

Chapter Officers

President:  Benjamin Geilich - geilich.b@husky.neu.edu
Vice President:  Daniel Hickey - hickey.da@husky.neu.edu
Secretary/Treasurer:  Michelle Stolzoff - stolzoff.m@husky.neu.edu

Back to the Top

Rice University

Chapter Officers

President: Marjan Majid - mm114@rice.edu
Vice President: Katie Brown - knb5@rice.edu
Vice President of Finance: Hannah Pearce - hap5@rice.edu
Vice President of Operations: Yu Seon Kim - yk37@rice.edu

Back to the Top

Rutgers University

Chapter Officers

President:  Jarrod Cohen - cohenj@dls.rutgers.edu
Secretary:  Mariana Noguera de Lima - limam@dls.rutgers.edu
Bylaws Chair:  Stephanie Fung - fungs@dls.rutgers.edu

Back to the Top

Syracuse University

Chapter Officers

President:  Rafael Ramos - rramos02@syr.edu
Vice President: Sang Won Lee - slee155@syr.edu
Treasurer:  Sweta Roy - sroy103@syr.edu 
Secretary: Zhaowei Jiang  - zjiang@syr.edu  
PR Chair: Michelle Elise Pede - mpede@syr.edu 

Back to the Top

Texas A&M University

Chapter Officers

Advisor: Daniel Alge, PhD - dalge@tamu.edu
President: Samuel Briggs - sambriggs@tamu.edu
Vice President: Ping Dong - pingd10@tamu.edu
Treasurer: Alisa Isaac - alisaisaac@tamu.edu
Journal Club Coordinator: Kaivalya Deo - kaivalya.deo@tamu.edu
Outreach Coordinator: Ashley Tucker - ashtuck589@tamu.edu
Webmaster: Lance Graul - lancegraul58@tamu.edu

Back to the Top

The Pennsylvania State University

Chapter Officers

President:  Kazim Kerim Moncal - kkmoncal@gmail.com
Vice-President:  Qiyao (Kara) Li - liqiyao729@gmail.com 
Secretary:  Kevin Powers Godzik - kevingodzik.edu@gmail.com

Back to the Top

University of California, Davis

Chapter Officers

Advisor: Kent Leach, PhD - jkleach@ucdavis.edu
President:  Amir Bolandparvaz - amirbp2002@gmail.com
Vice President (President-Elect): Riley Allen - rpaallen@ucdavis.edu
Secretary/Treasurer:  Noah Pacifici - njpacifici@ucdavis.edu
Secretary/Treasurer-Elect: Kevin Campbell - ktcampbe@ucdavis.edu
Biomaterials Chair: Dustin Hadley - djhadley@ucdavis.edu
Publicity Chair: Marcus Deloney - madeloney@ucdavis.edu
Bylaws Chair: Rian Harriman - rmharriman@ucdavis.edu

Back to the Top

University of California, Riverside 

Chapter Officers

President:  Wensen Jiang - wjian005@ucr.edu
Committee Chairman: Chaoxing Zhang - czhan028@ucr.edu
Secretary/Treasurer:  Jiajia Lin - jlin071@ucr.edu

Back to the Top

University of Central Florida

Chapter Officers

President:  Ryan Newell - Ryan.Newell@knights.ucf.edu
Vice President:  Isabel Arias - IArias@knights.ucf.edu
Secretary/Treasurer:  Zi Wang - WangZ1012@knights.ucf.edu

Back to the Top

University of Cincinnati

Chapter Officers

President:  Nava P. Rijal, PhD - rijalnp@mail.uc.edu
Vice President (President-Elect):  Rigwed Tatu, PhD - taturr@mail.uc.edu
Secretary:  Ashley Okon, MS - okonal@mail.uc.edu 
Treasurer:  Shobit K. Jain, MS - jainso@mail.uc.edu  

Back to the Top

University of Colorado Denver | Anschutz Medical Campus

Chapter Officers

Advisor: Chelsea Magin, PhD - chelsea.magin@cuanschutz.edu
President: Donald Campbell - donald.campbell@cuanschutz.edu
Vice President: Seth Drake - seth.drake@cuanschutz.edu
Bylaws Chair: Ian Garvin - ian.garvin@cuanschutz.edu
Secretary/Treasurer: Thomas Caracena - thomas.caracena@cuanschutz.edu

Back to the Top

University of Florida

Chapter Officers

Faculty Advisor: Gregory Hudalla, PhD 
President: Bryan James 
Vice-President: Heather Ursino 
Secretary: Justin Silberman 
Treasurer: Yan Pacheco
External Affairs: Sophia Saenz 
Webmaster: Melissa Gutierrez

Chapter Email: sfb@mse.ufl.edu
Twitter: @UFLSFB
Facebook: @uflbiomaterials

Website: www.uflbiomaterials.org

Back to the Top

University of Kansas

Chapter Executive Committee (AY 2020-2021)

Co-Presidents:  Victoria Drapal & Mikala Heon – Victoria.drapal@ku.edu & m.heon@ku.edu
Vice-President: Anna Trofimoff - anna_trofimoff@ku.edu
Secretary: Aya Cloyd - aya.cloyd@ku.edu
Treasurer: Nicole D’Souza - nicole.dsouza@ku.edu

Back to the Top

University of Kentucky

Chapter Officers

Advisor: Ramkumar T. Annamalai, PhD - rti234@g.uky.edu
President: Annaliza Torres - apto225@g.uky.edu
Vice President: Harshini Sureshkumar - hsu246@g.uky.edu
Treasurer: Edwina Barnett - edwina.barnett@uky.edu
Program and Bylaws Committee Chair: Madison Bates - mlba283@uky.edu
Secretary: Caleb Kennedy - cske228@g.uky.edu
Undergraduate Liaison: Lara Larson - lara.larson@uky.edu

Back to the Top

University of Maryland College Park

Chapter Officers

Advisor: John P. Fisher, PhD 
President: Connor Hall 
Vice President: Niall Cope 
Treasurer: Max Hakun 
Webmaster, Secretary, and Bylaws Chair: James Shamul
Contact the Student Chapter: sfbumcp@gmail.com

Back to the Top

University of Memphis

Chapter Officers

President: Lydia Ross
Vice President: Matthew Atwill
Secretary: Emily Coleman
Treasurer: John-David Ross
Social Media Chair: Kian Ziai
ESC Representative: Juan Esparza

Back to the Top

University of Michigan

Chapter Officers

President: Daniel Clough - dwclough@umich.edu
Vice President: Grace  Bushnell - ggb@umich.edu
Treasurer: James Day - dayjr@umich.edu
Industry Chair: Emine S. Turali-Emre - esumeyra@umich.edu

Back to the top

University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Chapter Officers

Advisor: Rebecca Wachs, PhD - rebecca.wachs@unl.edu
President: Brandi Brown - bbrown25@huskers.unl.edu
Vice-President: Fei San Lee - feisan.lee@huskers.unl.edu
Treasurer: Riaz Ur Rehman Mohammed - riazmohd38@huskers.unl.edu
Contact the Student Chapter: sfb_unl@unl.edu

Back to the top

University of Pittsburgh

Chapter Officers

Advisors: Bryan Brown, PhD, Shilpa Sant, PhD, William Wagner, PhD, Cecelia Yates, PhD
President: Benjamin Schilling
Vice-President: Alexis Nolfi
Bylaws Chair: Andrea Schilling
Business Manager and Secretary: Aimon Iftikhar 
Contact the Student Chapter: pittsocietyforbiomaterials@gmail.com 

Back to the Top

University of Rochester

Chapter Officers

President: Maureen Newman - maureen.r.newman@gmail.com
Vice President: Yuchen Wang - stellawang91@gmail.com

Back to the Top

University of South Dakota

Chapter Officers

President: Yangxi Liu - Yangxi.Liu@coyotes.usd.edu
Secretary/Treasurer: Mariah Hoffman - Mariah.Hoffman@coyotes.usd.edu
Bylaws Chair: Jordan Kuiper - Jordan.Kuiper@usd.edu
Biomaterials/Outreach Committee Coordinator: Eric Steven Sandhurst - Eric.Sandhurst@coyotes.usd.edu
Biomaterials/Outreach Committee Member: Hanna Sanyour - Hanna.Sanyour@coyotes.usd.edu

Back to the Top

University of Texas at Austin

Chapter Officers

President: Katerina Ha - hajeney@gmail.com  
VP External Affairs: Tess Hellebrekers - tessh@utexas.edu  
VP Internal Affairs: Zhonghao Cui - zhjcui@gmail.com  
VP Finance: Ally Willauer - a.willauer@utexas.edu  

Back to the Top

University of Texas at El Paso

Chapter Officers

President: Shweta Anil Kumar - sanilkumar@miners.utep.edu
Secretary: Mikael Garcia - magarcia39@miners.utep.edu
Treasurer: Israel Martinez - imartinez6@miners.utep.edu

Back to the Top

University of Virginia

Chapter Officers

President: Jack Whitewolf
Vice President: Mackenzie Grubb
Secretary: Natasha Claxton
Treasurer: Colleen Roosa

Back to the Top

The University of Washington

Chapter Officers

President: Marvin Mecwan - mmecwan@uw.edu
Vice President: Razieh Khalifehzadeh - rk35@uw.edu
Secretary: Anna Blakney - anna.blakney@gmail.com

Back to the Top

The University of Wisconsin-Madison

Chapter Officers

President: Joseph Vecchi - jvecc218@gmail.com
Secretary/Treasurer: Emily Olszewski - olszewski2@wisc.edu
Bylaws Chair: Jillian Johnson - jkjohnson23@wisc.edu
 
 

Vanderbilt University

Chapter Officers

President: Taylor Kavanaugh - taylor.kavanaugh@vanderbilt.edu
Vice President: Samantha Sarett - samantha.sarett@vanderbilt.edu
Secretary: Frances Knight - frances.c.knight@vanderbilt.edu
Treasurer: Madison McEnery - madison.a.mcenery@vanderbilt.edu

Back to the Top

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SFB News

Dr. Laurencin is the first surgeon in history to be elected to the National Academy of Engineering, the National Academy of Medicine, the National Academy of Sciences, and the National Academy of Inventors