Orthopaedic Biomaterials

The Orthopaedic Biomaterials Special Interest Group is focusing on new technologies and materials advances in orthopaedic surgery. The three immediate goals of this emerging Special Interest Group are: 1) solicitation of new members for the Special Interest Group from current Society membership and from non-members actively engaged in research and development of improved materials for orthopaedics, 2) identification of key issues in orthopaedic materials that should be addressed within the Society, and 3) cooperation between Special Interest Group membership and the chairman of the Program Committee for the Annual Meeting to assist in the coordination of the scientific program.


Chair: Kelvin Yeung, PhD
Department of Orthopaedics and Traumatology
The University of Hong Kong
Queen Mary Hospital 
102 Pokfulam Road, Hong Kong SAR, China
t: 852 2255 4654
e: wkkyeung@hku.hk

Vice Chair: J. Amber Jennings, PhD
Assistant Professor
University of Memphis
Biomedical Engineering
330 Engineering Technology
Memphis, TN 38152
t: (205) 310-3153
e: jjnnings@memphis.edu

Secretary/Treasurer: David Mills, PhD
Louisiana Tech University
1 Arizona
Center for Biomedical Engineering and Rehabilitation Science
Ruston, LA 71272
t: (319) 267-5644 x2675644
e: dkmills@latech.edu

Program Chair: Donghui (Don) Zhu, PhD
SUNY Empire Innovation Professor
Stony Brook University-SUNY
100 Nicolls Rd
Bioengineering Bldg. 113
Stony Brook, NY 11794
t: (631) 632-1911
e: donghui.zhu@stonybrook.edu

Web Contact: David Mills, PhD
Louisiana Tech University
1 Arizona
Center for Biomedical engineering and Rehabilitation Science
Ruston, LA 71272
t: (319) 267-5644 x2675644
e: dkmills@latech.edu

Student Contact: Yuchen Wang
University of Rochester
Robert B. Goergen Hall
Benoit lab
Rochester, NY 14627
e: stellawang91@gmail.com

Industry Representative: Seth McCullen
Poly-Med Inc
51 Technology Dr
Anderson, SC 29625
t: (864) 434-9581
e: seth.mccullen@poly-med.com

Biomaterials Forum Reporter: Roche C. de Guzman
Assistant Professor
Hofstra University
133 Hofstra University,
203 Weed Hall,
Department of Engineering
Hempstead, NY 11549
t: (516) 463-7058
e: roche.c.deguzman@hofstra.edu

Past Chair: Bingyun Li, PhD 
Associate Professor
West Virginia University Medical School
Dept of Orthopaedics
PO 9196 HSS
1 Medical Center Dr
Morgantown, WV 26506-9196
t: (304) 293-1075
e: bili@hsc.wvu.edu

Click here for membership list (member log-in required - only available to members of this committee)


Back to SIGs overview

SFB News

Our new bandage is cost-effective, easy to apply, adaptable, comfortable, and efficient at closing wounds to prevent infections and further complications. - Guillermo A. Ameer, Daniel Hale Williams Professor of Biomedical Engineering at the...