Announcing the 2023 BMES Award Winners

Submitted on Wed, 08/30/2023

Congratulations to this year's winners!


Abstract and Bio

2023 Robert A. Pritzker Distinguished Lecture Award

Tejal Desai
Sorensen Family Dean of Engineering
Brown University

"A Fantastic Voyage: My Journey in Nanoengineering, Advocacy, and Leadership"
Thursday, October 12 at 10:30 a.m.

Abstract and Bio

BMES Athanasiou Medal of Excellence in Translational Bioengineering Award 

Guillermo Ameer

Professor of Biomedical Engineering & Surgery
Northwestern University

"Pro-regenerative Biomaterials and Medical Devices: Enabling Clinical Regenerative Medicine"
 Friday, October 13 at 1 p.m.


Abstract and Bio

Wallace H. Coulter Award for Healthcare Innovation Award

Jian Yang
Chair Professor, Biomaterials and Regenerative Engineering
Westlake University

"Translational Citrate Biomaterials in Regenerative Engineering"
Friday, October 13 at 1 p.m.


Abstract and Bio


2023 Diversity Lecture Award
University of Florida/J. Crayton Pruitt Family Department

Department Representative: Christine Schmidt
Distinguished Professor & J. Crayton Pruitt Family Endowed Chair

“Amplifying Voices” 
Thursday, October 12 at 4:30 p.m.


Abstract and Bio


Mid-Career Award

Adam Engler
Professor & Chair, Bioengineering
University of California San Diego

"Lessons Learned by 'Mid-Career' that I wish I knew as an Undergrad"
Saturday, October 14 at 10:30 a.m.


Abstract and Bio

Rita Schaffer Young Investigator Award

Shreya Raghavan
Assistant Professor, Biomedical Engineering
Texas A&M University

"Engineering Variables of the Metastatic Tumor Immune Microenvironment"
Saturday, October 14 at 10:30 a.m.

Learn more about each award

View the original press release here.