Editorial Board

Biomaterials Forum Editorial Board 2021-2022

Executive Editor
Roger Narayan, PhD
Professor
North Carolina State University
Joint Department of Biomedical Engineering
4204D Engineering Building III
NC State Centennial Campus
t: (919) 696-8488
e: roger_narayan@ncsu.edu

Managing Editor
Krista Cornew, Society For Biomaterials
1120 Rte 73, Suite 200
Mt.Laurel, NJ 08054
t: (856) 380-6868
f: (856) 439.0525
e: kcornew@ahint.com

Government News Contributing Editor
Carl G. Simon Jr., NIST
Biosystems & Biomaterials Division
e: carl_simon@nist.gov

Industry News Contributing Editor
Gopinath Mani, PhD
Abbott
Flower Mound, TX 75028
t: (210) 863-5470
e: gopinathmani.bme@gmail.com

Society Business & Membership News Contributing Editor
John P. Fisher, PhD
Fischell Department of Bioengineering
Univ. of MD, 8278 Paint Branch Dr.,
4102 A James Clark Hall
College Park, MD 20742
t: (301) 314-2188
e: jpfisher@umd.edu

Education News Contributing Editor
Cheryl T. Gomillion, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
University of Georgia
College of Engineering
220 Riverbend Road
Athens, GA 30602
t: (803) 270-7606
e: ctgomillion@engr.uga.edu

Special Interest Group News Contributing Editor
Ashley Carson Brown, PhD
Assistant Professor
North Carolina State University and the UNC-Chapel Hill
911 Oval Drive
Raleigh, NC 27606
t: (919) 513-8231
e: aecarso2@ncsu.edu

AIMBE News Contributing Editor
Anirban Sen Gupta, PhD
Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Case Western Reserve University
Department of Biomedical Engineering
10900 Euclid Ave
Wickenden Bldg, Room 517B
Cleveland, OH 44106

t: (216) 368-4564
e: axs262@case.edu

Karen J.L. Burg, PhD
Harbor Lights Endowed Chair in Biomedical Research
University of Georgia
H-325 CVM, 501 D.W. Brooks Dr.
Athens, GA 30602
e: kburg@uga.edu

Student Representative
Gerry Koons, B.S.
Rice University
6100 Main St
Houston, TX 77030
e: glk2@rice.edu

 

Special Interest Group Reporters

BioInterfaces
Stephanie Florczyk, Stephanie.Florczyk@ucf.edu

Biomaterial-Tissue Interaction
Antonio Merolli, antonio.merolli@rutgers.edu

Biomaterials & Medical Products Commercialization
Greta Babakhanova, greta.babakhanova@nist.gov

Biomaterials Education
Sarah Rowlinson, sarcorow@gmail.com

Cardiovascular Biomaterials
Astha Khanna, akhanna@gravertech.com

Dental/Craniofacial Materials
TBD

Drug Delivery
Eun Ji Chung, eunchung@usc.edu

Engineering Cells & Their Microenvironments
Silviya Zustiak, Silviya.zustiak@slu.edu

Immune Engineering
Yaoying Wu, yw195@duke.edu

Nanomaterials
Mahboubeh Nabavinia, nabaviniam20@ecu.edu

Ophthalmic Biomaterials
​Frances Lasowski, lasowsfj@mcmaster.ca

Orthopaedic Biomaterials
Roche C. de Guzman, roche.c.deguzman@hofstra.edu

Surface Characterization & Modification
Shaunak Pandya, pandyasg21@gmail.com

Tissue Engineering
Jessica Gluck, jmgluck@ncsu.edu

 

 

SFB News

Dr. Laurencin is the first surgeon in history to be elected to the National Academy of Engineering, the National Academy of Medicine, the National Academy of Sciences, and the National Academy of Inventors