Young Scientist Group


The main objective of the Young Scientist Group within the Society For Biomaterials (SFB) is to facilitate and promote the entry, development, and full participation of young scientists within SFB and the broader biomaterials community. Undergraduate students, graduate students, postdoctoral fellows, young industrial professionals, young faculty, and other young scientists are included in SFB’s Young Scientist Group.

Click here to review the YSG Policies which serve as a guide for governance.

Getting Involved:

The YSG is always happy to welcome new members. All scientific students, early career scientists, and professionals are welcome - we would love to hear from you.

Throughout the year, you can stay connected with us via our social media platforms. It means you can be the first to hear about what is coming up and you can also contribute to ideas and feedback. What are you waiting for? Get involved now!


Jason Guo, PhD
Position: Chair (2022-2023)
Twitter: @guo_phd

Jason Guo is a postdoctoral fellow at Stanford University. He completed his BS in Biomedical Engineering at Northwestern University and his PhD in Bioengineering at Rice University. As a postdoc, he studies the influence of matrix architecture and cell spatial patterning on chronic fibrotic diseases using a combination of biomaterials, multi-omic sequencing, and machine learning. Jason’s long-term research interests are in the development of network-mimetic and patient-specific biomaterials for regenerative medicine.


Teresa Rapp, PhD
Position: Vice-Chair (2022-2023), Chair (2023-2024)
Twitter: @teresarappphd


Claudia Loebel, MD, PhD
Position: Past Chair
Twitter: @ClaudiaLoebel

Claudia Loebel is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Materials Science & Engineering at the University of Michigan. She obtained her MD at the Martin-Luther University Halle-Wittenberg in Germany and PhD at ETH Zurich in Switzerland. Prior to her faculty appointment at UMich, she completed her postdoctoral training at the University of Pennsylvania. Her research interests are on the development of biomaterial platforms to characterize and uncover the role of nascent microenvironments on cell fate with the ultimate goal of addressing specific problems related to tissue repair and therapeutic treatment.


Ritu Raman, PhD
Position: Programming Chair (2022-2023)
Twitter: @DrRituRaman

Ritu Raman, PhD is the d’Arbeloff Career Development Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering at MIT. Her lab is centered on engineering adaptive living materials for applications in medicine and machines. The Raman Lab’s current focus is building neuromuscular actuators to restore mobility and power robots. Prof. Raman has received several recognitions for scientific innovation, including being named a Kavli Fellow by the National Academy of Sciences and being named to the Forbes 30 Under 30 and MIT Technology Review 35 Innovators Under 35 lists. She is the author of the MIT Press book Biofabrication. She is passionate about increasing diversity in STEM and has championed many initiatives to empower women in science, including being named a AAAS IF/THEN ambassador and founding the Women in Innovation and STEM Database at MIT (WISDM).

Prof. Raman received her BS from Cornell University and her PhD as an NSF Graduate Research Fellow at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. She completed her postdoctoral research with Prof. Robert Langer at MIT, funded by a L’Oréal USA For Women in Science Fellowship and a Ford Foundation Fellowship from the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine.


Nada Haq-Siddiqi, PhD
Position: Communications Chair (2022-2023)
Twitter: @NadaHaqSiddiqi

Nada Haq-Siddiqi is a Dean's faculty fellow at New York University, Tandon School of Engineering in the department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering. She completed her BS in Biomedical Engineering at Case Western Reserve University, MS in Biomedical Engineering at the New Jersey Institute of Technology and her PhD in Biomedical Engineering at the City College of New York. As a postdoc, she is developing protein-engineered biomaterials for tissue engineering and drug delivery. Nada's long-term research interests are in stimuli-responsive biomaterials and dynamic platforms for tissue regeneration. 


Mykel Green, PhD
Position: Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Chair (2022-2023)
Twitter: @MykelDGreen


Victor Hernandez-Gordillo, PhD
Position: Industry Chair (2022-2023)
Twitter: @ibtvictor


David Eduardo Flores Prieto
Student Representative




Back to SIGs and Committees Overview


SFB News

Our new bandage is cost-effective, easy to apply, adaptable, comfortable, and efficient at closing wounds to prevent infections and further complications. - Guillermo A. Ameer, Daniel Hale Williams Professor of Biomedical Engineering at the...