2023 BWF BioInterfaces Rising Star Award

BWF BioInterfaces Rising Star Award

Sponsored by the BioInterfaces SIG (BioI) and Burroughs Wellcome Fund (BWF), this annual award recognizes outstanding BioInterfaces research by postdoc-level scientists. The BWF BioInterfaces Rising Star Award seeks to stimulate and highlight research that advances a biomaterials lens to cutting-edge research in protein and cell biology, and, conversely, research that translates progress in molecular and cell biology into innovative biomaterials.

Details of the award: The awardee receives (i) a certificate and a cash award ($1000 USD); (ii) travel and registration costs to the SFB annual meeting; and (iii) invited talk as keynote speaker for the BioInterfaces SIG session at the SFB annual meeting. The winner will be responsible for providing a 1-minute rapid fire research outlook video to be uploaded to Twitter.

Prior awardees: Xiao Huang (2022).

Deadline for applications: January 10, 2023, at 5 PM ET.

Eligibility and application process:

1. Candidates must hold a PhD degree and the title of postdoctoral researcher at the time of application. Self-nominations are highly encouraged.

2. Eligible candidates need to submit the following two items before the application deadline: (i) a digital copy (PDF) of a select BioI-relevant manuscript published in last 2 years (January 2021 onwards) as first author; (ii) a 1-page (≤800 words) essay on their BioI-related research contributions. These two items should be sent to the BioInterfaces SIG Chair as a single PDF file. The subject line of the email must have the following format: “Last name: BWF BioInterfaces Rising Star Award”. Additionally, (iii) the candidate should request two confidential letters of recommendation (one from PhD advisor; one from Postdoc advisor). These letters should be submitted directly to the BioInterfaces SIG Chair by the letter writers prior to the application deadline. Incomplete applications will not be considered by the review committee.

3. The awardee will be selected by a committee formed by a diverse group of BWF and SFB members. For transparency, the committee members for each award year will be published in the SFB website.

4. The awardee will be announced in late March 2023 prior to the annual SFB meeting in San Diego.