SFB 2019 Awards!

Society For Biomaterials Announces 2019 Award Recipients

SFB recognizes Society members with prestigious industry awards for outstanding achievements and contributions to the biomaterials field

December 4, 2018—The U.S. Society For Biomaterials (SFB), a professional society which promotes advances in biomedical materials research and development, will host its Annual Meeting & Exposition in Seattle, Washington, April 3-6 at the Washington State Center. This year’s theme, “The Pinnacle of Biomaterials Innovation and Excellence,” will highlight the Society’s dedication to global health, medical innovations and cutting-edge biomedical research.

“We are proud to honor these extraordinary members of SFB with these awards,” said Andrés J. García, president of the U.S. Society For Biomaterials. “Their research truly embodies the intersection of basic and applied research that is the focal point of our society.  SFB continues to be a powerful contributor to the sectors of industry, academia and policy.”

SFB is composed of members who have experience in numerous sectors of the biomaterials field, ranging from clinicians and researchers to medical device manufacturers and students studying biomaterials. During the April meeting, SFB will recognize the achievements of several of its members who have made a significant contribution to the biomaterials field.

SFB is proud to present the following awards:

Founders Award — awarded to an individual who has made a long-term, landmark contribution to the biomaterials discipline:

Joachim Kohn, PhD, Rutgers University

C. William Hall Award — honors an industry and government member of the Society For Biomaterials who has made a significant contribution to the Society and has an outstanding record in establishing, developing, maintaining and promoting the objectives and goals of SFB:

Peter Edelman, PhD, Consultant

Society For Biomaterials Award for Service — honors significant service to the Society For Biomaterials in establishing, developing, maintaining and promoting its objectives and goals:

James M. Anderson, MD, PhD, Case Western Reserve University  

Technology Innovation and Development Award — recognizes an individual’s successful application of basic and applied biomaterials research in the development of a novel medical product or technology that significantly benefits the health and well-being of medical and surgical patients:

Ann Beal Salamone, Rochal Industries

Clemson Award for Applied Research — awarded to an individual whose accomplishments include significant utilization or application of basic knowledge in science to achieve a specific goal in the field of biomaterials:

Christine Schmidt, PhD, University of Florida

Clemson Award for Basic Research — awarded to an individual who has made an original contribution to the basic knowledge and understanding of the interaction between materials and tissue:

Paulette Spencer, DDS, PhD, University of Kansas

Clemson Award for Contributions to the Literature — awarded to an individual who has made a significant contribution to the literature on the science or technology of biomaterials:

Balaji Narasimhan, PhD, Iowa State University

Mid-Career Award — recognizes an individual SFB member who has demonstrated outstanding achievements in and/or contributions to the field of biomaterials research. 

Edward A. Botchwey, PhD, Georgia Tech, Emory University

Young Investigators Award — recognizes an individual who has demonstrated outstanding achievements in the field of biomaterials research:

Stephanie Seidlits, UCLA

Outstanding Research by a Hospital Intern, Resident, or Clinical Fellow — Hospital interns, residents, clinical fellows, medical students or individuals in equivalent positions who have shown outstanding achievement in biomaterials will be considered for this award:

 Alexander Tatara, MD, PhD, Massachusetts General Hospital

Student Awards for Outstanding Research — awarded to undergraduate, graduate and / or PhD students who have shown outstanding achievement in biomaterials research:

PhD Candidate Category:

Priyadarshini Singha, The University of Georgia
Kathryn Wofford, Drexel University

Masters Category:

Rebecca Haley, Case Western Reserve University

One of the defining aspects of SFB is its commitment to bridging the gap between academic research and its application within an industry setting to advance the biomaterials field and lead to innovations in research, patient care and policy.

2019 Annual Meeting & Exposition participants will engage in sessions dedicated to exploring the role of biomaterials technology in industry and regulatory sciences. For more information on the Annual Meeting & Exposition, visit 2019.biomaterials.org.