2019 Simon Ramo Founders Award Winner, Inductee of the AAAS, and Walsh McDermott Medal Awardee


National Academy of Engineering Announces Winners of 2019 Simon Ramo Founders and Arthur M. Bueche Awards
Washington, DC, United States, Oct. 4, 2019 —

On Sunday, Oct. 6, during its 2019 annual meeting, the National Academy of Engineering (NAE) will present two awards for extraordinary impact on the engineering profession. The Simon Ramo Founders Award will be presented to Cato Thomas Laurencin for his research
contributions and leadership in engineering. The Arthur M. Bueche Award will be given to Roderic Ivan Pettigrew for his contributions to technology research, policy, and national and international cooperation. 

Cato T. Laurencin is known worldwide as a leader in biomaterials, nanotechnology, stem cell science, drug delivery systems, and a field he has pioneered, regenerative engineering. Laurencin is being recognized with the Simon Ramo Founders Award “for fundamental, critical, and
groundbreaking scientific advances in the engineering of tissues, guiding technology and science policy, and promoting diversity and excellence in science.” The award acknowledges outstanding professional, educational, and personal achievements to the benefit of society and
includes a commemorative medal.

Click HERE to read the full press release.


Dr. Cato T. Laurencin Elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences 
For immediate release on October 15, 2019 CAMBRIDGE, MA – 

On Saturday, October 12th, Dr. Cato T. Laurencin was formally inducted into the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Newly elected members received the honor amongst more than 200 outstanding individuals chosen for their achievements in academia, the arts, business, government, and public affairs. Dr. Laurencin is currently the only active orthopaedic surgeon in the United States who is a member of the Academy, and the fifth orthopaedic surgeon ever inducted in the Academy’s 239th history.

Click HERE to read the full press release.


National Academy of Medicine Honors Dr. Cato T. Laurencin for Outstanding Service

WASHINGTON – The National Academy of Medicine (NAM) honored three members today at its annual meeting for their outstanding service. The honorees are Cato Laurencin, University Professor and Albert and Wilda Van Dusen Distinguished Endowed Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery at the University of Connecticut; David Savitz, professor of epidemiology, obstetrics and gynecology, and pediatrics at Brown University; and Gail Wilensky, economist and senior fellow at Project HOPE. 

“These distinguished members represent the true spirit of dedication through their decades of service to NAM,” said National Academy of Medicine President Victor J. Dzau. “The diverse perspectives they bring to their activities have helped shape sound policies, inform public opinion, and advance knowledge about some of today’s most complex issues in health and medicine. We are delighted to honor them for their leadership and their mentorship to so many.”

Click HERE to read the full press release.

Professor Cato T. Laurencin Named a Winner of the UNESCO-Equatorial Guinea International Prize for Research in the Life Sciences
For Immediate Release on October 23, 2019

FARMINGTON, CT- On October 22nd The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization announced Professor Cato T. Laurencin as a winner of the 2019 UNESCO-Equatorial Guinea International Prize for Research in the Life Sciences.

The Prize is awarded to a maximum of three laureates who have made significant efforts through scientific research towards improving the quality of human life. Professor Laurencin was formally selected by the UNESCO Director-General for his fundamental contributions in the
field of regenerative engineering, a field he has pioneered. Laurencin is known worldwide as a leader in biomaterials, nanotechnology, stem cell science, drug delivery systems, and regenerative engineering.

Laurencin will receive the award in February 2020 during the Africa Union Heads of States Summit taking place in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.

Click HERE to read the full press release.