2016 Annual Business Meeting Summary

SFB Annual Business Meeting, May 20, 2016
World Biomaterials Congress
Montreal, Canada

Dr. Webster called the meeting to order at 12:34 PM ET with a welcome to all.

II.Election of 2016-17 AC&N Committee
Dr. Tony Mikos was announced as the 2016 Awards, Ceremonies and Nominations Chair.  Since Dr. Mikos was not in attendance due to a family emergency, Dr. Webster took nominations from the floor for 2016-2017 committee members. Ballots were collected for counting.  6 nominations were received.  Attendees were instructed to vote for four individuals.

III.2016 Election Results
SFB Secretary/Treasurer, Dr. Lisa Friis announced the results for the board election:

2016-2017 President-Elect: David Kohn, Ph.D., University of Michigan

2016-2017 Member At-Large: Andres J. Garcia, PhD., Georgia Institute of Technology

IV.Presidential Address
Dr. Webster presented his closing remarks with a report on the highlights of the past year including a video summary of the ongoing public relations initiative.  Click here to view. 
He announced that the pitch for the 2024 World Biomaterials Congress to be held in San Francisco, was unsuccessful.  The 2024 WBC meeting will be held in Korea.

Dr. Lisa Friis presented the statement of financial position summary, the FY 2015 statement of activities and the 2016 budget. Income and expenses are in line with projections, and the Society is in good health.   It was noted that beginning in 2013, with more than $1.5 million in reserves, the Board of Directors followed the Finance Committee’s recommendation to invest in membership benefits and services, without increases to dues or registration.  This was a conscious and strategic decision on the part of a Board, meeting their fiduciary responsibilities to the members of this non-profit organization. There was a discussion about the decrease in membership and revenue during WBC years.

Jim Curtis, BChE, ME., gave a brief thank you address for the C. William Hall Award.
SFB Award for Alan Litsky, MD, ScD., gave a brief thank you address for the SFB Award for Service.

VII.Incoming President’s Address
The gavel was presented to incoming SFB President Dr. Liisa Kuhn by outgoing president, Dr. Thomas Webster.
Dr. Liisa Kuhn reviewed the society’s strategic plan including:

  • Visibility / Public Relations
  • Education & Professional Development
  • Membership
  • Meetings
  • Globalization

VIII.New Business
The results of the ACN Committee election were announced, as follows:

Christine Schmidt, PhD., University of Florida
Phillip B. Messersmith, PhD., University of California, Berkeley
Stephanie J. Bryant, PhD, University of Colorado
Todd McDevitt, PhD., University of California, San Francisco

The meeting was adjourned at 2:04 Pm ET.

Click here to view the associated slide presentation.

SFB News

Workshop on Measurement Needs for Biofabrication for Tissue Engineered Medical Products to be held on December 1, 2022